How to snooze and unsnooze someone on Facebook?


Social media platforms like Facebook, with billions of daily users can be a bit too much.

The constant sharing and res-haring of content from people, groups and pages, sometimes ruins the entire experience of using the platform to stay connected. Thankfully, Facebook’s snoozing feature lets you regain control of what you wish to see and interact on your feed. 

In this CommentGuard article, we’ll discuss what is snoozing and how to snooze and unsnooze someone on Facebook. 

What is snoozing on Facebook?

Consider snoozing as taking a temporary break from content from a profile, page, or group on your News Feed. When you snooze someone on Facebook, their posts don’t appear on your feed for 30 days. But the posts will reappear after this period, unless you decide to snooze them again. 

Why do people snooze others on Facebook?

Snoozing someone on Facebook can bring a sense of relief and freedom from seeing and interacting with specific kinds of posts everyday.  

Taking a break

While you are connected to the world, there’s always that one friend or family member with a crazy appetite for posting every detail of their life. This means getting your feed bombarded with posts from them everyday, which can become overwhelming. With the snoozing feature, you can take a break from their posts, freshening up your feed.  

Avoiding irrelevant content

As your Facebook network grows, your news feed gets populated with an increasing variety of content. While this can be enriching, it can also clutter your feed with content that doesn’t align with your interests. For instance, you could see posts on political debates, sports updates, recipes, in which you have no interest. But using the snoozing feature, you can keep your feed personalized.

Avoiding spoilers 

Facebook is a home to hundreds of thousands of communities, sharing content and discussing TV shows, books, anime, movies and more. When you are active on the platform and follow your favorite groups, avoiding spoilers can become tough. This is where snoozing particular friends and groups that constantly post on your favorite shows can help you avoid spoilers. You can always unsnooze them when you are ready to interact. 

How to snooze someone on Facebook?

We discussed the snoozing feature on Facebook and why people use it. Let’s now dive into the steps of using it. 

Here’s how to snooze someone on Facebook:

  • Navigate to the post from the person, page or group, you wish to snooze. 
  • Click on the three-dotted icon present in the top-right corner.
  • From the dropdown menu, select “Snooze [Name] for 30 days.” This will snooze the person, page, or group responsible for the post. 

How to unsnooze someone on Facebook?

Snoozing is a temporary measure which helps you filter content from a person, page or group for 30 days. But you can unsnooze someone you’ve snoozed. 

Here’s how to unsnooze someone on Facebook:

  • From the top-right corner of Facebook, click on the menu icon. 
  • Press on “Settings & Privacy,” > “Settings.”
  • Click on “Feed Preferences,” > “Snooze.”
  • In the search bar, type the name of the person, Page, or group you want to unsnooze. 
  • Click on the clock icon, present to the right on their name to unsnooze them.

Conclusion

Now you know what snoozing on Facebook means, the reasons people use this feature and how to snooze and unsnooze someone on Facebook. The snoozing feature helps you hide content from a person, group or page for 30 days. This is great when you need some temporary break from specific content creators. But you can unsnooze them to see their posts again.