How to view your Facebook blocked list (desktop + in-app)?


Facebook lets you connect with your friends and family and share content on the platform. It’s a never ending process of adding new friends and keeping your profile updated as the platform evolves. 

While the entire experience is enriching, at times it isn’t always harmonious because of some users who misuse freedom on the platform to bully, create conflict, and invade your privacy. 

Thankfully, you can block such users to restrict them from engaging with your account. As you keep blocking users, overtime the list grows, which Facebook keeps track of.

In this CommentGuard article, we’ll discuss how to view your Facebook blocked list on desktop and in the app.

What is a blocked list on Facebook?

Facebook blocked list is like having a list of people you don’t want to invite to your birthday party where Facebook makes sure people on the list don’t crash the celebrations. 

On Facebook you can block profiles restricting them from interacting with you on the platform. When you keep blocking profiles, Facebook creates a list of it, which you can access on a desktop or in the app.

What happens when you block someone on Facebook?

Blocking someone on Facebook is like putting a digital “Do Not Disturb” sign for that person.

It restricts them from a plethora of in-platform actions which unblocked users can easily execute. Hence, it’s crucial to know what blocking someone on Facebook does. 

When you block a profile on Facebook:

  • They can’t send you messages or friend requests.
  • They won’t see your profile, posts or comments.
  • Facebook will automatically unfriend them.
  • They can’t tag or mention you in posts and stories.
  • Your profile won’t appear in their search results.
  • They can’t add you to groups or invite you to events.
  • They won’t find you in their friend’s friends list.

Why do people block profiles on Facebook?

Blocking on Facebook immediately restricts a profile from interacting with you in many ways. This might seem a drastic measure but it’s quite common for many reasons. 

Harassment and bullying

While Facebook offers an amazing environment to stay connected with your friends and family, unfortunately it also serves as a channel for online harassment and bullying. 

Imagine receiving hurtful comments on your posts from someone, which makes you feel upset and targeted. Blocking their profile restricts them from commenting further and even engaging with you on the platform. This way you can immediately regain control over your interactions and contribute to the Facebook community. 

Conflict resolution 

Disagreements and conflicts are common on social media platforms like Facebook. Every-so-often you might get into a heated argument with someone who shares a different opinion on a topic or simply because of a personal reason. 

This is where the blocking feature helps you stop the issue from escalating further. Not only it imposes a positive online experience for both the parties but also allows necessary space and time to reflect. 

Privacy concerns 

Facebook is like an open-book of its users’ lives. Not only do they post every single detail of what’s happening around and with them, but also make an effort to keep their users updated. 

While there’s no harm in this, sometimes you might come across shady profiles who stalk you constantly which can become a bit too much. You might even want to restrict some profiles like office colleagues, or relatives, from following your activities. This is where blocking them can help you comfortably share updates with people you want and restrict stalkers. 

Unwanted connections

As you grow your network on Facebook, you might find your profile connected to people you no longer engage or wish to engage with. Blocking them helps you restrict them from accessing what you post (vice versa) and provides a break from such connections. 

Say you had a colleague on Facebook, but after changing jobs, you no longer interact with them. Instead of constantly seeing their posts, you can block them to keep your Facebook interactions focused on your current relationships and interests. 

View your facebook blocked list on desktop

Now that you know what a Facebook blocked list is, let’s dive into the steps to access it on your desktop computer. 

Here’s how see Facebook blocked list on desktop:

  • Launch your preferred web browser and navigate to the Facebook website. Login to your account.
  • Click on the menu icon, present in the top-right corner. Click on “Settings & Privacy,” > “Settings,” > “Privacy.” 
  • In the left-hand menu, find and click on the “Blocking” option. 
  • Find the “Block users” section, tap on “Edit,” > “See your blocked list.”

This will give you the list of profiles you have blocked on Facebook. You can also unblock users from this section.

View your facebook blocked list in the app

You can also view your Facebook blocked list from the convenience of your app.

Here’s how see blocked list on Facebook mobile:

  • Launch the Facebook app on your mobile device and login your account.
  • Tap on the three horizontal lines in the bottom-right corner to open the menu. Scroll down and tap on “Setting & Privacy,” > “Settings.”
  • Under the “Audience & Visibility” section, tap on the “Blocking” option to view your Facebook blocked list.

Here you’ll find a list of individuals you have blocked and just like the desktop version, you can unblock users from this section.

Conclusion

Now you know what a Facebook blocked list is, and how to view it on desktop and in the app. Blocking profiles on Facebook is a great way to resolve conflicts, maintain your privacy and remove unwanted connections on the platform. From the Facebook blocked list, you can review the accounts you have blocked and unblock them.